This post has expired! It was posted more than 90 days ago.
<- Back

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

Speciality Classification
Subject matter expert
Healthcare e-Learning

This elearning programme equips medical practitioners with the knowledge to work as mental health assessors in relation to Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) legislation. This UK legislation is designed to protect people who lack the mental capacity to make decisions for themselves and is equally relevant internationally.

DoLS assessor training

This elearning programme includes:

  • a pre-test on the Mental Capacity Act (MCA)
  • five knowledge sessions (each taking 20 to 30 minutes)
  • a final test of understanding

The content has been written and extensively peer-reviewed by subject-matter experts from the field of psychiatry.


Please note that you do need to fulfil two important criteria before you complete this online programme.

You must:

  • be approved under section 12 of the Mental Health Act 1983; or
  • be a registered medical practitioner who has at least three years’ post-registration experience in the diagnosis or treatment of mental disorders*

* to the satisfaction of the relevant supervisory body.

Course Content

elearning Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards includes the following:

  • Assessment on the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) (you must pass with a score of 85% or more to move onto the knowledge sessions)
  • Legal and Process Overview
  • Best Interests, Age and No Refusal Assessments
  • The Mental Capacity Act
  • The Mental Health Assessment
  • The Eligibility Assessment
  • DoLS Test of Understanding (you must pass with a score of 85% or more for the DoLS certificate)


eIntegrity programmes are developed by NHS Health Education England’s e-Learning for Healthcare programme (HEE e-LfH). 

The programmes are high quality self-directed learning programmes.  They are designed to support training and CPD and are excellent resources alongside other traditional teaching methodologies.  They have been developed by the UK NHS for use in the NHS.  However, many of the programmes have international relevance, particularly the specialty training programmes which are often mapped to UK specialty training curricula.


Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards
Speciality Classification
Provider Type
Education Provider